Moderation

            This page will explain everything moderation.

 What can I do if there is a user I don’t want in my room anymore?

There are a few options you could try. Flockmod offers a variety of moderation tools. The standard ways of getting rid of a user are kicking, muting, and banning.

Kicking Will remove the user from the room, they can re-join.

Muting will take away all board privileges, but the user can still chat. This user will stay muted until the mute time runs out or until he/she is manually unmuted. These users can see when they will be unmuted in the chat bar.

Banning will block the user from entering your room for a desired period of time.

Default ban and mute times are set by users who have the privilege to change them. By default, mutes will last for 120 minutes (2 hours) and bans will last 24 hours.

 

These moderation tools sound good, now how do I use them?

All three options above are found by right clicking the users name in the userlist.

Once this list is open, you can also press “k”, “b”, “m” or “u” on your keyboard to quickly give the command.

What if I ban a user by mistake?

All  bans are sent to the ban manager, where you can add,extend, and remove bans. It is explained in further detail below.

    Banning, kicking, and muting are  by IP address. (Internet Protocol address, if you have any concerns as to this, please visit (http://drawdevil.com/wiki/index.phptitle=IP_Security_Concerns .)

     
(In case you do not have “User Events” checked in config, you should do so for the next tip.)

Ban ID: This will tell you the ID that the user that was banned has. (It started from 1 to 2 and so on.) This is the order the bans appear in by default. The counts are global, meaning no ban will ever have the same number on Flockmod.

IP: This is the user’s IP that they are banned under. (You get this from chat, when they enter or leave the room.)

Username: This is the username they were under when banned, or the username entered when another moderator banned them.

Moderator: This will show the moderator that banned the user.

Expires: This will show the year/month/date/time the user will be unbanned.

IP Address: This is where you place the User’s IP that you wish to ban.  (You get this from chat when user events are enabled. “Unregistered user Anonymous (IP) has entered the room.”)

Search IP: Search the entire ban manager for a specific IP.

IP address: Enter the IP you want to ban.

Username: Enter the username of the person you banned. (Can be anything if you don’t want to put their real username)

Expires [box]: Once you have an IP and username set, you can change the amount of time you want it banned for. By default it is 24 hours, but you can ban a user longer than that.

Forgive selected: Will unban the user selected.

                                     

                                          A banned user keeps coming back, why is this?

If you notice the same user returning even though you banned them, they may be using a dynamic IP to evade their ban. You can tell because their IP will have changed slightly. The Flockmod ban manager allows you to dynamically ban a range of IPs.

Note that before you enter the ban, make sure it is the same user, just because the IPs are similar does not mean it is the same user. Dynamically banning a range will ban many IPs, so it is to be used as a last resort. It is also good to check their RDNS to tell if they’re from the same area with the same ISP.

To dynamically ban an IP, copy it into the IP address slot.

next, you will want to put asteriks to determine the part of the IP changing. For example, if this user’s IP changed to 234.45.69.53 you would enter

or you could just place one asterik at the end if only the last numbers are changing.

You also may want to consider raising the ban length to show the user ban evading is not allowed. If you encounter a troll who is causing a real problem out of your control, contact one of the global moderators via inbox.

 

What is RDNS? 

RDNS is reverse DNS. In short, it is a helpful way of backtracking IPs to see if users are evading their bans. Do not assume that because two users have a similar RDNS that it is the same user, this can occur often.

 

Is there an undo feature?

Yes, but only for users who have that privilege. Look for users with a bold or colored username in the userlist, they should be able to undo for you.You can PM them or use the chat to contact them if they are active.

If you have the correct privileges, you will see an undo button at the bottom near config. Here is the Ui explained:

Save the board every __ seconds: This will save the board for however many seconds you desire, if you have the number “2” in the slot, it will capture the board every 2 seconds. The higher this number is, the more frames that can be saved. But it will cause you to be less precise when undoing.

Partial undo: This will allow you to undo part of the board, rather than the entire board when unselected.

Box: If you have box selected, anything inside the box will be undone.

– Lasso: If you have lasso selected, you can freehand the area you want undone.

Layer 1, 2 and 3: The layers selected will be the layers undone. (layer rooms only)

Saving a frame: You can save a frame by right clicking on the undo screen on the frame you want to save.

What are ‘modhax’? And how can I use them?

Modhax is an anti-trolling feature available to moderators.

It allows you to freehand select an area of the board as a trigger zone.

Anyone who draws in that area will have your picked action applied to them.

The actions available are

Alert : Alerts you [the mod] that the user has drawn in your area, this is denoted with a green trigger zone on your screen

Kick : Kicks the user and alerts you in chat that they have been kicked, this is denoted with an orange trigger zone on your screen

Mute : Mutes the user, this is denoted with a tan trigger zone on your screen.

Ban : Bans the user and alerts you in chat to the ban, this is denoted with a red trigger zone on your screen

In addition to these actions, you may also specify that the board needs to be undone afterwards.

To setup a trigger zone, type /modhax <action>
If you would like your trigger zone to send an undo after firing, use /modhax <action> undo

mhax-alert

 

After hitting enter, the chat should disappear and a freehand selection dialog should appear.

Outline the area you would like to set as a trigger zone with it.

mhax-drawing

 

 

Once you have outlined the area, it should appear in color.

mhax-alert-postdraw

 

Hit save to lock in the zone, or redraw it if you arent happy with how it turned out.

mhax-alert-postdraw-2

 

 

Your trigger zone is now locked in and active!

When someone draws on it, it should now fire off the action of you choice.

mhax-alert-postdraw-trigger

 

To unset modhax, simply type /modhax on its own.

You may also right-click a user in the user list, then click “Pardon from modhax” or “Unpardon from modhax” respectively to make the user immune/susceptible to your trigger zone.

This allows you to set up a space for yourself, an artist, or a small group to draw uninterrupted if desired.

 

Enjoy!

 

How do I upload an image onto the board?

In order to upload a picture onto the board you must have the correct privileges for the room you are in.

If you are a mod and are in Layer mode then select a layer you would like the image uploaded to. Now look to the left of the “Undo” button and you will see the “Upload” Icon!

Loading

Once you click it, it will bring up your Documents. Select a picture according to the size and filed type required: no higher than 900 x 540 and .PNG (The image I used for this example was this.)

ImageChoosingForLoad

Let’s say that you chose the first layer. It will result in the following:

UploadingComplete

 

Once you select the document you want to upload, a window opens allowing you to choose where the picture will be located.

 

 

              An example is shown above, the blue square being the picture we are trying to upload. You can drag it around in any position you’d like.

                                                     

And after clicking confirm the image is uploaded onto the board.